Varsity 2006

Men's Race

Mara Yamauchi starts the men's race.

The men's race was expected to be close, and so it proved.

There was drama before the start as Oxford's Ben Moreau and Alistair Brownlee of Cambridge, both contenders for the top places, were forced to withdraw through injury on the eve of the race. This left a three-way fight for the race win between last year's victory Jon Blackledge and opposing Cambridge runners Paolo Natali and Will George. Blackledge's restricted training, due to a recent injury, eventually took its toll as Natali applied pressure in the second half of the race. Natali pulled away for an impressive victory as Blackledge held on gamely to record third behind George.

David Bruce of Oxford ran very well to surge away from a closely packed following group to take fourth, but it wasn't enough to prevent Cambridge taking advantage of their superiority at the front to take victory 35-43, leveling the series at 58 wins each.

1Paolo NataliCambridge38:39
2Will GeorgeCambridge39:07
3Jon BlackledgeOxford39:20
4David BruceOxford39:31
5James KellyCambridge39:41
6Ian KimptonOxford39:58
7Alan ChetwyndOxford40:03
8Owain BristowCambridge40:05
9Matt ArmstrongCambridge40:08
10Matt GrantCambridge40:12
11Tom DouglasOxford40:52
12Martin BishopOxford40:53
13Diarmuid O’Seaghdha Cambridge41:24
14Stephen Granger-Bevan Oxford41:35
15Ulrich PaquetCambridge42:25
16Joe MercerOxford44:07

Ladies' Race

Darren Talbot setting the ladies on their way.

There was drama too before the ladies' race, last year's winner Courtney Birch being forced to withdraw after having surgery on a broken nose.

With the race now wide open it turned into one the tightest ever encounters, with the first ten runners covered by half a minute as they entered the finishing lap round Memorial Field. Cambridge fresher Polly Keen emerged from the melee to take victory, as Emily Crowley was able to match but unable to improve on her second place from three years previously.

Cambridge captain Claire Day and her team-mate Charlotte Forbes won the sprint for the following places, helping their team to a surprise victory 14 points to 22. Overall Oxford still lead the series to 18-13.

1Polly KeenCambridge24:59
2Emily CrowleyOxford25:04
3Claire DayCambridge25:10
4Charlotte ForbesCambridge25:11
5Lucia GibsonOxford25:12
6Harriett OwlesCambridge25:13
7Rachel DeeganOxford25:14
8Catherine AnsellOxford25:18
9Alison CrockerOxford25:22
10Carolyn PlateauOxford25:33
11Laura SpenceCambridge25:42
12Lauren BarklieCambridge26:31

Old Blues' Race

18-to-score, Oxford won 319 to 348.

1Darren TalbotCambridge21:10
2Phil KillingleyOxford21:34
3Andy WeirOxford21:47
4Nick AltmannCambridge21:53
5Mark DewhurstOxford21:57
6Francis Malone-LeeCambridge22:02
7John RedshawCambridge22:44
8Olly MyttonOxford23:04
9Aiden BrownCambridge23:22
10Chris DanielsOxford23:23
11Steve BensonCambridge23:36
12Chris MillardOxford23:40
13Jamie DarlingOxford23:41
14Steve MarshallOxford23:44
15Joe StevickCambridge23:45
16Simon MoldenOxford23:53
17Ed CatmurOxford24:06
18Jamie BrunningCambridge24:15
19Gareth DaviesOxford24:18
20Georgie RutherfordCambridge24:39
21Doran ShultzinerOxford24:46
22Dave BarkerCambridge24:58
23Richard LeBonCambridge25:06
24Emily FerencziOxford25:13
25Andy RobinsonOxford25:22
26Karen EllisonCambridge25:29
27Oliver JardinCambridge25:40
28Chris MorrisCambridge26:03
29Liam RichardsonCambridge26:04
30Phill ScarrOxford26:09
31Juan CoderchOxford26:39
32John BarkerOxford28:20
33Mark BownCambridge28:45
34Mark ColeyCambridge29:43
35Theodore ChenCambridge33:15
36David JenkinsCambridge34:32
37John BryantOxford40:35